The Sawtooth National Forest is comprised of more than 2.1 million acres of public land. Most of these acres are in south central Idaho and northern Utah.

The Sawtooth Forest includes Twin Falls, Fairfield, Ketchum and the Sawtooth National Recreation Area near Stanley. The Forest’s 1,100 lakes and more than 3,000 miles of rivers and streams. The Salmon, South Fork of the Boise, South Fork of the Payette, and the Wood River are some of the major rivers that run through the forest. The congressionally designated 754,000-acre Sawtooth National Recreation Area is a part of the Sawtooth National Forest.

In Southern Idaho, the South Hills, Albion Mountains and the Fairfield area provide some of the best National Forest landscapes. Visitors should include Independence Lakes, Mt Harrison Overlook, Phantom Falls, Soldier Mountain, Diamond Field Jacks and so many more in their travel plans.